Press "Enter" to skip to content

Daily Briefing: Zambia Ratifies and Deposits Instruments of TFTA Agreement

Zambia has become the latest country to deposit its instruments of ratification for the Tripartite Free Trade Area (TFTA) Agreement with the COMESA Secretariat. This brings the number of countries that have ratified and deposited the TFTA instruments to nine. The Agreement needs a total of fourteen ratifications by Member States to enter into force.

The TFTA brings together twenty-eight countries with a population of over 700 million people, and a combined Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of $1.4 trillion. Additionally, the region accounts for almost half of the membership of the African Union and sixty percent of the GDP of the African continent. Once operational, the TFTA will enable the free movement of goods, services and businesspersons all of which stimulate economic activity in the region thereby improving the lives of ordinary people.

COMESA Trade experts say the Agreement will serve as an impetus for investment in Africa’s cross-border infrastructure. It is estimated that Africa needs to invest nearly $100 billion annually in infrastructure over the next decade. Less than half of this target is met currently. One of the reasons for the low level of investment has been poor coordination across the different trading blocs. Building infrastructure will also create additional jobs and foster the development of engineering services.

COVID-19: South Africa and Zambia to Strengthen Trade Relations

The Trade Experts add that the TFTA goes a long way in addressing the issue of overlapping membership by bringing together three of Africa’s major Regional Economic Communities (RECs) namely, COMESA, EAC and SADC. It provides a key path to harmonization and effective implementation of trade and trade-related instruments of the Africa Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA).

COMESA REPSS records over $138 million dollars through Regional Payment System

Other countries that have so far ratified and deposited the instruments of ratification with COMESA Secretariat include Namibia, Egypt, Uganda, Kenya, South Africa, Rwanda, Burundi, and Botswana. The Kingdom of Eswatini has also ratified but is yet to deposit the instrument. In addition, five countries are currently in advanced stages of the ratification process, including Comoros, Malawi, Sudan, Tanzania, and Zimbabwe.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.